How To Learn The Practice Of Reiki

Is reiki accessible to everyone?

Good news, it is possible to initiate yourself into Reiki via seminars and/or by consulting specialized books. Did you know that the founder of Reiki (see our article on the history and origins of Reiki) developed the art of Reiki alone on Mount Kurama? All alone!
YES, all on his own, he had no teacher to guide him, and yet he was able to learn how to heal others, detailing exactly how to do it in a newly discovered form of writing...
According to some, it can take years of person to person lessons to become a certified master. However, Usui's method allowed him to start healing others on his own. He did not require a teacher. So, even if you don't know anything about Reiki, it is possible for you to learn how to heal others using real Reiki techniques using the same method as Master Usui...
Reiki is accessible to everyone, regardless of age and circumstance, and anyone, including children, can learn to use it. But Reiki cannot just be learned from a book, that's for sure. For the healing connection to be established, a Reiki Master must give the student all the necessary lessons. So, everything depends on the teaching and the teacher you choose.

Here are the different levels of learning:
Depending on your level  of ability and what you are looking for, there are several levels:

1st degree named Sho Den
This level is for anyone who wants to take greater responsibility in their life, to better experience personal growth and development of the inner consciousness, to have the joys of balance and health.
After the initiation of first-degree Reiki, the practitioner can already give Reiki to someone else. But this level is mainly about practising on the self. It corresponds to the body, and physical and energetic health. Access to this level can amplify the energy which transits the body to allow it to release areas of tension and blockages. This in turn facilitates the capacity for giving healing. This first part of training includes the presentation of Reiki and its history. To gain the acquisition of techniques for application on yourself and on others, you will be introduced to the practice of breathing and energy balancing. 
This first degree is usually preceded by an initiation phase, comprised of four rituals. The ritual opens the crown chakra, places Reiki energy in the hands, strengthens the nervous and energetic system of the body, and finally determines the ability to feel the Reiki energy.

The second degree, called Okui Den
For those who want a deeper contact with the energy of the first level and thus access to all the knowledge and specific gifts of Reiki practice.
This second degree Reiki corresponds to the mental plane. The insider Reiki can use Reiki to a higher vibrational level. It works on the physical, mental and emotional planes.
It is at this time that the Reiki symbols are transmitted. The Reiki seconds degree also exposes the technique of distance healing and various exercises on the perceptions of energy. The healing of animals is also part of Reiki 2.

The Master Level , called  Shinpei Den
The third level is reserved for those who, after many years of practice and of integration of reiki principles , want to devote themselves to this practice and teach, while being aware of the responsibilities that this entails in the Gift of the Self. 
The course includes the Reiki Master symbol, the deepening of all the techniques in Reiki and other Reiki that complement the therapies, such as "psychic surgery" and a larger approach to meditation

The Reiki Symbols
Reiki teaches the visualization of the Reiki symbols from the 2nd degree onwards. These symbols act as a bridge intended to promote the concentration of the practitioner, but also act as a trigger to achieve specific results when used. 

Choku Rei or Cho Ku Rei; The Power Symbol
Choku Rei means “Place the power of the universe here”
This is made up of the words: 
•    Choku which means immediate 
•    Rei  which means energy in the context of spirit or soul.
Cho Ku Rei is a way to visualize and focus energy, it is the Power Symbol of Reiki and acts as a booster of the Reiki energy.

Sei He Ki- The mental/emotional symbol, The symbol of protection.
Sei He Ki means “God and Man become one”
It is comprised of: 
•    Sei meaning pure
•    Heki which means habit or tendency
Sei He Ki is the symbol of Yin and Yang, the balance of mental calm and of emotional peace and the balance of the body and the mind. This symbol often used for addictions, or to heal specific parts of the body where mental or emotional blockages may be an issue. It has uses to find harmony and equilibrium as well as for protection. 

Hrih corresponds to the Buddha and his eternal light, Some say it is the secret seed letter from which Sei He Ki was formed.

Hon Sha Ze Sho Nen
The name means “no present, no past and no future.”
•    Hon means“Base”
•    Sha means « a person »
•    Ze represents justice
•    Sho means regulation
•    Nen means thought
The formula "Hon sha ze sho nen" is used in distance healing 
and serves to transcend time and space. Thought can thus be directed and materialized to bring healing in the past, present and future. 

Dai Ko Myo (DKM)- The Master Symbol
•    dai = big
•    koo = ray
•    mei = clear or light 
The big bright light or the great light ray is the master symbol. This is why it is normally taught at the third level of Reiki. It is considered to be the highest vibrating symbol and can be used to heal the soul.
The symbolism leads you to discover and perceive the rays of infinite light.
The light leads to perceive the origin of everything and here too the light is a support and not finality.